I became a soccer referee in 1988. So you could say that I've been around the game a little bit.
There was no foul or offside against the US, it was a goal. (notice offside is singular? You cannot be offsides in soccer, you can only be offside.)
Sorry US fans the Findley play was a handball. Yes, it hit his head first and only glanced off his hand but he still got an advantage from it because it went right to his teammate. Should it have been a card though? No.
The yellow that was issued against Suler, of Slovenia, right outside the box; should have been a Red Card because it denies an obvious goal scoring opportunity.
I don't know the referee's name from that match but I bet he is demoted to 4th official for the rest of the Cup.
HoF Cards: 1981 Topps #206 Record Breaker Mike Schmidt
17 minutes ago